Heart Radio

29th September 2011

Following the article in the Independent , today through breakthough Breast cancer, I was contacted by Heart Radio. This afternoon they recorded an interveiw with me about my story and how I am trying to raise awareness for Male Breast Cancer. This will be broadcast on Sunday 2nd October at 8, 9, 10 & 11am  and repeated on Monday 3rd October at breakfast, at the start of Breast Cancer awareness month. At last maybe the message is getting out there?  Also on line

http://www.heart.co.uk/suffolk/news/local/man-diagnosed-breast-cancer-talks-heart/

 

About andrewtokely

Andrew Tokely's Fight against Breast Cancer. Trying to make other men aware that this can also effect them
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Heart Radio

  1. Graham Haigh says:

    Hi Andrew,

    Just wanted to say thank you for your recent article in The Independent. I really enjoyed reading it as I too have a similar story. In January 2009, I was diagnosed with breast and prostate cancer on two consecutive days – not a great week! Luckily with early detection and the help of the amazing staff at Leeds Teaching Hospitals, I managed to fight them off and live to tell the tale.

    I have become a patient at the Leeds Breast Cancer Haven which really helped me. Through my interaction with the staff there, I was contacted to do an interview with the Yorkshire Post and Yorkshire Evening Post, as well as BBC Radio Leeds. A great opportunity, like you said, to get the word out there about males and breast cancer.

    I wish you all the best with your life and recovery, and if you ever want to chat about our experiences, please feel free to contact me: grarus41@aol.com

    Sincerely,
    Graham Haigh

    • andrewtokely says:

      Hi Graham,

      Thank you for your kind comments . Glad you are doing ok as am i at present . Since my article in the Independant , you are the 2nd person who has had Male breast Cancer to contact me. Glad we are not alone. I’m sure if we all keeping banging the drum about this the message may finally get out there in the media and not just talk about how it affect ladies.

      All the best

      Andrew

  2. Johan Cronje, Vereeniging says:

    Hi Andrew, Thanks for bringing our plight into the public domain. I have also been through a male breast cancer experience and finished the chemo and radiation treatment in Dec 2009. I am currently still on Kessar and will be for 5 years.

    I have often thought about ways of giving back from my experience but, as you said, men don’t even get a mention when breast cancer is discussed.

    If there is any way I could help in a campaign please contact me.

Leave a Reply

