Had 6th and Final Chemo Treatment

Monday 23rd August 2010

Went to work today and travelled with Colin to Flora nova in Norwich to see flower and vegetable trials . Had a good day and felt well all day , even though a long day.

Tuesday 24th August

Took 8 steroids tablets this morning and had Blood test at surgery. Went to work today . Felt very well  throughout the day . Marilyn brought in some delicious cakes to snack on throughout the day as my taste buds are up to speed at the moment. Did develop hic-ups later in day after evening meal at Pizza Hut plus some indigestion, but worth it as meal was good , as were Marilyn’s cakes.

Wednesday 25th August 2010 , the day of 6th and Final batch of Chemo

Didn’t sleep that well last night , went to bed at 10.30 but woke up at 2.30am . Then only had little bits of a dose until morning due to steroids keeping me awake and may be a little anxiety about treatment today. Had bad indigestion through night, took some Rennie to help ease.

Had a good breakfast this morning of Toast , scrambled eggs and Bacon as taste buds still good and I have got a busy day ahead of me. Took my next 8 steroids this morning , then Amanda took me to hospital for my Chemo. Had a very nice nurse look after me called Rita . Had treatment and got tablets to take home including extra steroids as last time to help against joint pain side effects, once they had tracked Dr Ram down to agree to prescribe again. Had hic-ups again tonight after eating or drinking for some reason, very odd!

Radiotherapy update

Had Lisa Mann come and see my whilst having treatment today from Radiotherapy department. She explained that from the end of September I will be having 5 weeks of Radiotherapy treatment for 5 days per week. Plus I will be prescribed Tamoxifen tablet that I will need to take every day for the next 5 years.  She booked me an appointment for 9th September where I will have a CT SCAN and be measured and marked up so treatment is done in same place each time. The radiotherapy will be concentrated on the right breast area and on my shoulder towards my neck. This is because one of the glands that were removed from under my arm was infected and was going towards the shoulder neck area apparently . Lisa was a very nice lady who spoke clearly and explained the whole process through well . At least I know a little more of what is going on next.  With a bit of luck treatment will be finished before my birthday and I will have finished tablets by the time I am 50 years old , which I expect will be here sooner than I think, something to look forward to I suppose.

Thursday 26th August

Not too bad a night last night , slept from 11pm till about 2.30am , woke up , then drifted in and out of sleep rest of night. Had a bit of indigestion again and hic-ups, so had to take some Rennie. Took my other 8 steroids this morning , along with an anti-sick pill and a Fluconazole tablet against Mouth Thrush , plus started mouthwash again as a prevention against ulcers.

Been a miserable day weather wise as rained most of day , but have been taking it easy and had a meal out tonight with rest of family at Oyster Reach as probably last meal before I lose taste buds completely,  as already starting to disappear. Took 2nd anti-sickness  pill this evening along with some Lactolose to hopefully help keep bowels moving.

Friday 27th August

Had quite a good night sleep last night , slept from 11pm until 4am , then dosed off again. No indigestion in night either. Took 2 lots of 2 Steroid tablets today (this will now continue for another 5 days)  , along with 2 anti-sick pills(one this morning and one tonight) and the Fluconazole tablet against Mouth Thrush , plus carried on with mouthwash . Not feeling too bad accept a bit sluggish and my taste buds have now gone , so good job we had a nice meal last night. Lactolose is helping to  keep bowels moving if only a little at a time.

Saturday 28th August

Slept last night till 4am , which was good , then napped after this. Had Indigestion again at times which is a pain. Taste buds have gone today , so eating food on small and texture rather than what it tastes like. Took my Steroid tablets today and the Fluconazole tablet against Mouth Thrush , plus carried on with mouthwash. Plus keeping up with Lactolose as don’t feel right inside. Feel a bit sluggish today , but not much joint pain thankfully, haven’t done much , just pottered about house and had Julie Phillips (Amanda’s school friend) call this afternoon which was nice to catch up again. Amanda took me over to see Dad tonight for about an hour , just to check he was ok as brothers unfortunately both away this weekend so couldn’t cover for me.

Some Hair starting to return

Hair Coming Back

Hair Coming back Close up

Can notice now how my hair is starting to return on my head , let’s hope the steroids keep making the hair grow . Mind you not having to brush it in the mornings is something I do not miss .

How Chest hair has disappeared compared to when had operation

Chest when I had Operation , with a lot of hair

Not all hair is returning! It has all but disappeared on my Chest now, especially if you compare it to the  picture on the right when I had my Operation .

 

 

 

 

Sunday 29th August

Not a good night , had bad  indigestion before bed so took a Gaviscon chewable tablet , then woke up at 1.30am with bad stomach ache. Managed to get some movement at loo after about ½ an hour and eventually went back to bed. Finally got back to sleep , but woke again at about 4am with knee and shin pains in my muscles and joints. Got up at 7am had some toast and took 2 pain killer tablets Naproxen and Codein  (as have to be taken with food) and my Steroid and the Fluconazole tablets. Been a bit sluggish today, but did manage to do a few little chores with Louie and tied up my Begonia plants in greenhouse. Don’t feel great inside , bit of joint pain (so keeping up with pain killers) and Taste buds are none existent and my tongue looks awful through the thrush, feel sorry for Amanda as she cooks a nice meal for me, I eat it but can’t really taste or enjoy it. Still must keep positive , can only get better as days go by.

Bank Holiday Monday 30th August 2010

Not the best start to a bank Holiday ,woke up at 2.30am with stomach ache and indigestion . Eventually relieved it with Gaviscon and a trip to loo and went back to sleep. Woke up at 4am with leg muscle and joint pain , eventually drifted off again and got up and took pain killers , Steroids, and Fluconazole pills with breakfast at about 8am . Legs feel as though I have run a marathon, but in truth walking around house is a real effort today. Mouth is awful as tongue looks disgusting, taste buds still very odd, but hopefully will improve as week goes on with help of pill and mouthwash. I’ve spent most of the day resting at home, as weather nice Amanda and children went for a while to Chantry Park Family Fun day in Ipswich.  Have kept up with pain killers all day and legs and joints still ache but are bearable. Thankfully movement at loo has been better today so not feeling so bloated, and I certainly feel a bit better inside. Did manage to walk to allotment and pick some Runner beans for tea this afternoon , but was worn out by the time I got back , but the fresh air did me good.

Tuesday 31st August

Not a bad night’s sleep, woke up at 1.30am turned over went back to sleep until 5.30am when I had some leg pain.  Got up for breakfast took last Steroids today , some pain killers but reduced dosage, Fluconazole, and started taking antibiotics today (2 a day for next 10 days), plus keeping up with mouthwash .  Went to toilet well today, so feeling a bit better inside but not 100% as I’m still a bit sluggish, hence I’ve not gone into work today. Did manage to go up allotment for a little walk today for some fresh air as a nice day with Louie, Amanda and Sue (Amanda’s friend from work) and get some Potatoes, plus had a look around plots. Mouth and taste buds still poor.

Tuesday 31st August

Not a bad night’s sleep, woke up at 1.30am turned over went back to sleep until 5.30am when I had some leg pain.  Got up for breakfast took last Steroids today , some pain killers but reduced dosage, Fluconazole, and started taking antibiotics today (2 a day for next 10 days), plus keeping up with mouthwash .  Went to toilet well today, so feeling a bit better inside but not 100% as I’m still a bit sluggish, hence I’ve not gone into work today. Did manage to go up allotment for a little walk today for some fresh air as a nice day with Louie, Amanda and Sue (Amanda’s friend from work) and get some Potatoes, plus had a look around plots. Mouth and taste buds still poor.

Wednesday 1st September

Went to work today till 2pm , Not feeling 100% , but better than I have been .  Took antibiotics , Fluconazole, and a reduced amount of pain killers. Legs ache a little, but not too bad, stomach feels bloated . Went to see dad tonight for a chat and too see he was ok, which was good. Taste buds still poor.

Thursday 2nd September

Went to work today , feel a lot better today although still a little bloated. Took antibiotics, Fluconazole, and a reduced amount of pain killers. Went to see Dr Ram at Hospital at 3pm , he’s happy with my progress. No further appointment unless required once radiotherapy start , otherwise will see him again at end of treatment. He gave me a bit more info about radiotherapy of possible side effects that I may get soreness or wound, underarm area. I may also get pins and needles or numbness down right arm, or right side of chest.  I must take care if on long journeys that I do not develop DVT thrombosis (Blood clots), but as younger patient shouldn’t be too much of worry. Could also have numbness , pins  and needles for up to 3 months after treatment finishes.        Dr Ram also explained about Tamoxifen tablet , possible side effects of sweats and hot flushes (all to do with hormones) plus can make you tired at times , occasional headaches etc ,Plus in men can also possibly affect sex drive (so will have to see how that works out?) . Taste buds still very poor. Dr also said and apparently the bloatedness is due to the lining of my stomach being stripped away by Chemo, similar to lining of mouth (hence no taste) has and will return to normal soon.  Dr Ram gave me a letter to pass to GP so I can start taking Tamoxifen as soon as possible once prescribed. I dropped this into surgery on the way home.

 

About andrewtokely

Andrew Tokely's Fight against Breast Cancer. Trying to make other men aware that this can also effect them
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

