Hospital appointment 6th May 2010

This day we visited (Amanda and I)the Oncolodgy Clinic and saw Dr Ram , he explained that all the Cancer had been removed but because there is always a danger of a stray cell escaping Chemotherapy treatment was recommended . This was a bit of a shock again as this hadn’t been mentioned before in detail before the operation ,only possible treatment with  tablets or Radiotherapy . 

After seeing Dr Ram , we then sat down with a Nurse called Rachel , who is my contact person if I have any problems during Chemo . She explained how the Chemo would be done and what some of the side effects could be.

During our conversation Amanda got a little upset as the mention of Somersham ward was made , this brought back bad memories for us both as this was where her Dad died of Cancer.

Rachel reassured us that the Chemo treatment I was to have , was a bit of belt and braces tactic to ensure my body was cleaned up and she reassured us that I was curable. This made us both feel a little better.  At the end of the day I was given the choice if I wanted the Chemo treatment or not and I decided I must as it would be safer to have it than not and it should prolong my life.

I was to have 6 Chemo Treatments , 3 batches of FEC (Fluorouracil, Epirubicin, Cyclophosphamide ) and 3 of T (Taxotere) .This is every 3 weeks and will finish the end of August . 

An appointment for Chemo was made on the 10th May ,

About andrewtokely

Andrew Tokely's Fight against Breast Cancer. Trying to make other men aware that this can also effect them
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

